Why I started Collecting Diana Dolls: Franklin Mint Contest Entry

While browsing The Franklin Mint website and checking My account to see if the new Diana has shipped yet.  I  came across  this Share Your Story contest on thier website. I decided to go ahead and write a short piece on why I started collecting Diana Dolls With My daughter Brianna’s help we gathered all of our favorites in our collection and took a group shot to include with our story. The winning prize is said to be worth $250.00 . I wonder what it could be perhaphs a gift certificate. I could sure use one of those.

Here is our story

briewithdis2009

In 1997 my Daughter was born, I wanted to share my love of doll collecting with her we started with the usuals Barbies and some baby doll type dolls but for some reason I did not feel connected to them and I  knew if this collection was going to mean anything to the both of us the dolls had to be special. August 31st happend and the world lost Diana, Princess of Wales. Like most of her fans I was upset but I then thought to my self what if I could find Princess Diana dolls that were made when I was younger that would be a good start.But locating them at that time was impossible her secondary market prices were through the roof So I quickly dismissed that idea. Then one after noon in the mail I recieved a brochere on the Vinyl Diana Doll that the Franklin Mint was going make in honor of her. I knew then this was my chance to start a historic collection for my daughter . I did not purchase the vinyl one right away I wanted to go to the Franklin Mint store and see the doll for my self . My husband took me there and in we walked and i was likea little kid in a candy store. I asked about the vinyl Diana and unfortunatly they did not have any of her in stock but they did have several Porcelains. After talking it over with my husaband I settled on the Princess of Style Diana Doll. From there I purchased the Vinyl Diana and all of her clothes and the collectors trunk. Here I am 11 years laters and 19 Diana Dolls later and still captivated by the Franklin Mint’s Diana Doll. Even though the Franklin Mint has been through so much drama in the last few years they still managed to give Diana’s fans beautiful dolls in her likeness. I was able to share with my daughter the legacy of The People’s Princess through the dolls clothes and events in which she wore them. Together we enjoy keeping Diana’s legacy alive in our home with these beautiful dolls

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. theiturbanfashionista
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 10:16:43

    Reply

Leave a Reply

